Guesten Hall was built in 1330 by Wulstan de Bransford, the Prior of Worcester in the early 1300s and later Bishop of Worcester. The hall was used as visitor accommodation (Guesten means ‘guests’ in Middle English) and as a court . The building, beyond repair by 1854, was demolished, but the roof was salvaged, reduced in size and incorporated into Holy Trinity church in Worcester. Following Holy Trinity’s demolition in 1969, the impressive medieval roof was relocated to Avoncroft, and a new Guesten Hall was constructed for it be showcased.